Tags

, , ,

My family loves pasta, so I enjoy coming up with new ideas to make pasta, than always making the same style each time.  My daughter and I loves Pasta Carbonara but we have it frequently as my mother-in-law knows we love it, so she makes it quite often for us…and she does make an awesome Pasta Carbonara…its to die for (it will be a future blog entry) 🙂 But my husband is not a big fan of Pasta Carbonara, maybe it’s the fact that he has it quite often and maybe he’s a bit turn off my it. I don’t know and I don’t understand why he would feel that way! 🙂  Like I said, it’s to die for…his mom does make it the best!!  Anyways, getting my to how I came up with this idea of making this particular pasta.  So I thought, we love zucchini in our pasta (we at times make a delicious shrimp and zucchini pasta)…so maybe I can do something with zucchini, also knowing the daughter loves her zucchini.  If I add, pancetta and saffron can be a nice and interesting combination.  There it is! I made it and it was deliciously tasteful and everyone loved it.  My daughter said, “hmm mummy, you’re the best cooker ever!” 🙂 So I knew I did good with this one!  She says that each time I make something she likes.

Ingredients:

(serves 4 people)

–         350g  Penne Pasta (or your choice of pasta)

–         A pack of  Cubed Pancetta  (if you can’t find cubed package Pancetta, get some in slab size at the Italian store and diced them.)

–         4 or 5 zucchini (cut into small pieces)

–         1 pack of Saffron

–         Extra virgin olive oil

–         Parmigiano Reggiano or Grana Padano grated cheese

Preparation:

  1. Wash zucchini and cut into small pieces.
  2. Heat extra virgin olive oil in a non-stick frying pan and cook them up.
  3. When the zucchinis are fully cooked, add the diced bacon and fry together for a while.
  4. Put water on to boil and cook the pasta as directed on the package.
  5. When pasta is finish, drain the water and pour it into the pan where you previously cooked zucchini and pancetta.
  6. Dissolve saffron in a little water and add to the pasta, zucchini, pancetta.
  7. Add a good handful of grated Parmesan or Grana Padano cheese to taste and sauté or mix together until the cheese has completely melted.

**Note: when I first made this dish I didn’t dissolve the saffron as you can see in my photo.  But the second time, I decided to dissolved in a little water, and it was easier to spread over the pasta. ***

**I found out that this recipe some use here in a variety of different way. But this is my version to fit me and my family taste**

It’s a pretty quick but still very tasty recipe!

Buon appetito!!!!!!

